HBCU Transfer Guarantee

Historically Black Colleges and Universities 

HBCU campus logos

California community college transfer students with a GPA of 2.5 or higher are guaranteed admission to HBCU partner schools using either of the following two options: (1) complete a minimum of 30 UC or CSU units (2) complete a transfer level-associate degree (ADT) using the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (IGETC) or the California State University General Education Breadth pattern. Students who qualify for this guarantee can also receive an application fee waiver code for the online Common Black College Application to apply to a participating partner HBCU (four max).  There may be additional prerequisites or other requirements for certain majors.

Additional program benefits for students under the agreement include priority consideration for housing, consideration for transfer scholarships for students with a 3.2 or higher GPA, and pre-admission advising.

Find more information on the California Community Colleges Transfer Guarantee Pathway to HBCUs website

Participating HBCU Campuses

Alabama State University Florida Memorial University Stillman College
Alcorn State University Fort Valley State University Shaw University
Arkansas Baptist College Grambling State University Texas Southern University
Benedict College Harris-Stowe State University Talladega College
Bennet College Huston-Tillotson University Tennessee State University
Bethune-Cookman University Kentucky State University Virginia State University
Bowie State University Lane College Tougaloo College
Central State University Lincoln University of MO Tuskegee University
Claflin University Lincoln University of PA West Virginia State University
Clark Atlanta University Mississippi Valley College Wiley College
Dillard University North Carolina Central University Xavier University of Louisiana
Edward Waters College Philander Smith College
Fisk University Southern University and A&M College